Chérie Newman http://mtpr.org en Montana Then And Now http://mtpr.org/post/montana-then-and-now <p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 21818 at http://mtpr.org Montana Then And Now Novel Looks Inside the Mind of a Man With Alzheimer's http://mtpr.org/post/novel-looks-inside-mind-man-alzheimers <p><span class="piece-description-lead"><a href="http://www.laurapritchett.com/" target="_blank">Laura Pritchett</a> talks about and reads from <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9781619023086" target="_blank">Stars Go Blue</a>, a novel in which a Colorado rancher and his wife deal with his diagnosis of Alzheimer's.</span></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 12:01:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 21457 at http://mtpr.org Novel Looks Inside the Mind of a Man With Alzheimer's 35 New Books For Your Summer Reading List http://mtpr.org/post/35-new-books-your-summer-reading-list <p>TWQ producer Chérie Newman, Barbara Theroux, manager of Fact &amp; Fiction Bookstore in Missoula, and Zed talk about recently-published books by authors from the western U.S.</p><p></p><p><strong>NONFICTION</strong></p><p><a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780295993515" target="_blank">How To Read the American West:&nbsp; A Field Guide</a>, by William Wycokoff</p><p><a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780762784981" target="_blank">Hiking Montana:&nbsp; 35th Anniversary Edition</a>, by Bill Schneider an Russ Schneider</p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 12:17:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 21299 at http://mtpr.org 35 New Books For Your Summer Reading List World Premier of "The Church of Pancakes" http://mtpr.org/post/world-premier-church-pancakes <p>Part 3 in <a href="http://www.prx.org/series/33758-notes-from-the-huntley-project" target="_blank">Notes From the Huntley Project</a> series of radio plays by Jay Kettering.</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:07:42 +0000 Chérie Newman 21130 at http://mtpr.org World Premier of "The Church of Pancakes" 60 Years Later, He Started Writing http://mtpr.org/post/60-years-later-he-started-writing <p></p><p>Newspaper columnist and Montana rancher, Richard Geary, talks about rural culture then and now, and reads some of his essays.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 12:32:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 20782 at http://mtpr.org 60 Years Later, He Started Writing A Tribute to Joseph Brown Henry http://mtpr.org/post/tribute-joseph-brown-henry <p>William Marcus hosts a special tribute to Joseph Brown Henry, who died at Providence St. Patrick Hospital in Missoula, Montana, on June 1.</p><p>Excerpts from Henry's obituary, written by <a href="http://www.partnerscreative.com/about-us/people/joe-nickell/" target="_blank">Joe Nickell</a>:</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 18:54:20 +0000 Chérie Newman 20685 at http://mtpr.org A Tribute to Joseph Brown Henry 11-Year-Old Learns Respect From War Veterans http://mtpr.org/post/11-year-old-learns-respect-war-veterans <p><span class="piece-description-lead">Children's author <a href="http://www.benmikaelsen.com/index.html" target="_blank">Ben Mikaelsen</a> talks about his inspiration for <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780545442879" target="_blank">Jungle of Bones</a> and reads from the novel.</span></p><p><strong>About the Book:</strong></p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 12:08:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 20610 at http://mtpr.org 11-Year-Old Learns Respect From War Veterans Dolack Painting and "Music in the Parks" Celebrate 75 Years of State Parks http://mtpr.org/post/dolack-painting-and-music-parks-celebrate-75-years-state-parks <p></p><p>Michael Marsolek talks with <a href="http://www.dolack.com/" target="_blank">Monte Dolack</a>, artist, <a href="http://www.sweetgrassmusic.com/" target="_blank">Phillip Aaberg</a>, musician, and <a href="http://stateparks.mt.gov/about-us/" target="_blank">Chas Van Genderen</a>, Administrator for Montana States Parks, about free concerts planned to celebrate 75 years of Montana State Parks.</p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:54:04 +0000 Chérie Newman 20443 at http://mtpr.org Dolack Painting and "Music in the Parks" Celebrate 75 Years of State Parks Peter Stark Revives Tales of Lost Pacific Empire http://mtpr.org/post/peter-stark-revives-tales-lost-pacific-empire <p>Peter Stark talks about and reads from <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780062218292" target="_blank">ASTORIA: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson’s Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival</a>.</p><p><strong>About the Book:</strong></p><p>In 1810, John Jacob Astor sent out two advance parties to settle the wild, unclaimed western coast of North America. More than half of his men died violent deaths. The others survived starvation, madness, and greed to shape the destiny of a continent.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 18:11:31 +0000 Chérie Newman 20353 at http://mtpr.org Peter Stark Revives Tales of Lost Pacific Empire Molly Caro May's Search for Place http://mtpr.org/post/molly-caro-mays-search-place <p>During this program, Molly Caro May talks about her nomadic childhood and her search for a place to "be from." She also reads from her new memoir, <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9781619022362">The Map of Enough: One Woman's Search for Place</a>.</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 15:19:36 +0000 Chérie Newman 19972 at http://mtpr.org Molly Caro May's Search for Place