Morning Edition http://mtpr.org en Federal Court Throws Out Health Care Subsidies In 36 States http://mtpr.org/post/federal-court-throws-out-health-care-subsidies-36-states Julie Rovner of Kaiser Health News explains a federal appeals court ruling Tuesday that overturns subsidies provided to low- and middle-income people in states that use the federal health exchanges. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:13:00 +0000 editor 22327 at http://mtpr.org Sheriff Puts Inmates Back In Stripes As Orange Jumpsuits Gain Fame http://mtpr.org/post/sheriff-puts-inmates-back-stripes-orange-jumpsuits-gain-fame The Michigan sheriff worried that the Netflix series Orange Is the New Black has turned orange jumpsuits into a fashion statement. So, they're out. And black and white stripes are back in. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:27:00 +0000 editor 22309 at http://mtpr.org Woman Will Officiate Big 12 Football Game For The First Time http://mtpr.org/post/woman-will-officiate-big-12-football-game-first-time Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with congratulations to Catherine Conti. Cat Conti will be the first woman to officiate a football game in the Big 12 Conference. She'll be part of the crew when Kansas plays Southeast Missouri State. The officiating supervisor says she got that job because she's, quote, "darned good." Kansas coach Charlie Weis says because of Ms. Conti, he will try not to swear as much.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Actually, Coach Weis, equality means curse away.<p>INSKEEP: It's [bleep] MORNING EDITION. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 09:25:00 +0000 editor 22308 at http://mtpr.org Violence Flares In Libya, Leaving Main Airport In Ruins http://mtpr.org/post/violence-flares-libya-leaving-main-airport-ruins Militias in Libya spent the past week battling for control of the main airport in Tripoli, leaving much of it in ruins and dozens dead. Steve Inskeep gets the latest from The Guardian's Chris Stephen. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 22297 at http://mtpr.org Kerry's Aim In Egypt: First, Get Israel And Hamas To Cease Fire http://mtpr.org/post/kerrys-aim-egypt-first-get-israel-and-hamas-cease-fire Secretary of State John Kerry is in Cairo trying to help forge a cease-fire between Israel and Hamas. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Michele Kelemen 22298 at http://mtpr.org Telecommuting Didn't Work Out For One Transplanted Worker http://mtpr.org/post/telecommuting-didnt-work-out-one-transplanted-worker All summer, we're talking with out-of-work young adults about how they're making ends meet. Chrystina Gastlelum, 32, moved to Maine from New York City and tried to keep doing her job remotely. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 editor 22306 at http://mtpr.org Rosetta Spacecraft Readies For Rendezvous With Comet http://mtpr.org/post/rosetta-spacecraft-readies-rendezvous-comet The Rosetta spacecraft hibernated for 31 months while its orbit took it too far away from the sun for its solar arrays to keep it operational. It's ready for a rendezvous with a comet Aug. 6. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Joe Palca 22307 at http://mtpr.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them http://mtpr.org/post/save-these-pigs-ky-farmer-says-we-have-eat-them Robertson County has the smallest population of any county in the state of Kentucky, and it's the only one, word has it, without a stoplight.<p>So it's an unlikely place to find a campaign to keep the food system more genetically diverse. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:52:00 +0000 Leslie Guttman 22246 at http://mtpr.org To Save These Pigs, Ky. Farmer Says We Have To Eat Them Company Says It Can Cure Your Hangover – For Up To $300 A Visit http://mtpr.org/post/company-says-it-can-cure-your-hangover-300-visit Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. People waking up with a hellacious hangover often say they'd pretty much give anything to make it go away. And a new company promising to do just that is thriving in New York. For up to $300 a visit, it will send a nurse to your home armed with medicine and - this is key - an IV for instant rehydration. Given the treatment cost more than the night out at the bar, though, you might want to stick with the hair of the dog. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 22244 at http://mtpr.org Arkansas Razorbacks Trademark Famous Hog Call http://mtpr.org/post/arkansas-razorbacks-trademark-famous-hog-call The famous hog call chanted by fans of the sports teams of the University of Arkansas Razorbacks is now a registered trademark owned by the school. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:06:00 +0000 editor 22239 at http://mtpr.org