Bill Chappell http://mtpr.org en New U.S. Rules Protect Giant Bluefin Tuna http://mtpr.org/post/new-us-rules-protect-giant-bluefin-tuna In an effort to reduce the number of giant <a href="http://www.fishwatch.gov/seafood_profiles/species/tuna/species_pages/atl_bluefin_tuna.htm">bluefin tuna</a> killed by fishing fleets, the U.S. is putting out new rules about commercial fishing in the Gulf of Mexico and parts of the western Atlantic. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 24172 at http://mtpr.org Celebrity Photo Leak Puts Spotlight On The Cloud, And Security http://mtpr.org/post/celebrity-photo-leak-puts-spotlight-cloud-and-security The FBI and Apple are looking into how private photos of Jennifer Lawrence and other celebrities were stolen, in an apparent breach of security that is raising new questions about storing personal information online.<p>"This is a flagrant violation of privacy," Lawrence's spokeswoman said Sunday, after nude images of the actress and others began to emerge online. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 17:25:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 24166 at http://mtpr.org After Just Two Years, Huge Atlantic City Casino Shuts Down http://mtpr.org/post/after-just-two-years-huge-atlantic-city-casino-shuts-down After operating for only two years, the Revel Casino Hotel has closed down, part of a trend that will reportedly shutter a third of Atlantic City's big gambling halls by the end of September. It cost $2.4 billion to build the Revel facility.<p>"It's a tragedy," massage therapist Lori Bacum, who worked at the resort's spa, tells <a href="http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2014/09/revel_casino_closes.html">NJ.com</a>. "There were some warnings, but none of us thought it would happen. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 13:48:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 24161 at http://mtpr.org After Just Two Years, Huge Atlantic City Casino Shuts Down 'More That Could Have Been Done' To Help Foley, His Brother Says http://mtpr.org/post/more-could-have-been-done-help-foley-his-brother-says Faulting the U.S. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 18:02:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23737 at http://mtpr.org Coming Soon To A Pole Near You: A Bike That Locks Itself http://mtpr.org/post/coming-soon-pole-near-you-bike-locks-itself Cyclists may soon have a convenient way to discourage bike thieves, thanks to new designs that use parts of the bikes themselves as locks. Two projects — one based in Chile, another in Seattle — are promising to provide peace of mind without the fuss of carrying a separate lock.<p>Like security-minded Transformers, the bikes can be manipulated to use their own parts as a lock. Fans of the approach say that if a thief breaks a lock that's part of the bike itself, it can't be ridden away. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23736 at http://mtpr.org Coming Soon To A Pole Near You: A Bike That Locks Itself Who Owns A Monkey's Selfie? No One Can, U.S. Says http://mtpr.org/post/who-owns-monkeys-selfie-no-one-can-us-says The question of who owns a striking image taken by a crested black macaque may be closer to being settled, as the U.S. Copyright Office says the photo can't be copyrighted — by the person who owns the camera or by any other entity — because it wasn't taken by a human.<p>The remarkably photogenic monkey won fans by capturing her own smiling image back in 2011, after a group of macaques in Indonesia appropriated British wildlife photographer David Slater's equipment. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 14:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23730 at http://mtpr.org Who Owns A Monkey's Selfie? No One Can, U.S. Says Hamas Executes Suspected Informants After Deadly Israeli Strike http://mtpr.org/post/hamas-executes-suspected-informants-after-deadly-israeli-strike <em><strong>Updated at 3:25 p.m. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 12:50:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23728 at http://mtpr.org Hamas Executes Suspected Informants After Deadly Israeli Strike U.S. Prisoner Swap For Bergdahl Broke The Law, GAO Says http://mtpr.org/post/us-prisoner-swap-bergdahl-broke-law-gao-says The Pentagon didn't give enough notice to Congress and misused nearly $1 million when it swapped Army Sgt. <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/125938957/bowe-bergdahl">Bowe Bergdahl</a> for five senior Taliban members, the Government Accountability Office says. Fri, 22 Aug 2014 11:49:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23726 at http://mtpr.org U.S. Prisoner Swap For Bergdahl Broke The Law, GAO Says U.S. Won't Rule Out Attack In Syria To Hit Islamic State http://mtpr.org/post/us-wont-rule-out-attack-syria-hit-islamic-state American aircraft have carried out more strikes against the Islamic State, after the extremist group <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/08/20/341836683/video-purports-to-show-beheading-of-u-s-journalist-by-militants">beheaded U.S. journalist James Foley</a>. The attacks come despite threats to kill other hostages; a White House official says the U.S. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 14:59:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23683 at http://mtpr.org Hamas Says Israeli Airstrike Killed 3 Senior Commanders http://mtpr.org/post/hamas-says-airstrike-killed-three-senior-commanders An Israeli attack on a house has killed three military commanders in Gaza, Hamas says, including one of the group's most senior leaders. Thursday's strike follows what Hamas says was a failed attack on its top military leader earlier this week.<p>From Gaza, NPR's Philip Reeves reports:<p><blockquote><p>"The attack happened overnight and targeted a residential house in Rafah close to Gaza's border with Egypt.<p>"The three men were commanders in the al-Qassam Brigades, the military wing of Hamas. Hamas named one as Raed al Attar, their most important commander in southern Gaza. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 12:15:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 23677 at http://mtpr.org Hamas Says Israeli Airstrike Killed 3 Senior Commanders