Tom Power http://mtpr.org en Dealing with a “Speculative and Uncertain” Future When Planning Electric Supply Acquisitions http://mtpr.org/post/dealing-speculative-and-uncertain-future-when-planning-electric-supply-acquisitions <p><strong>Dealing with a “Speculative and Uncertain” Future </strong></p><p><strong>When Planning Electric Supply Acquisitions</strong></p><p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 22:53:10 +0000 Tom Power 19287 at http://mtpr.org Coping with a New Cold War in Central Europe: Ukraine and Russia http://mtpr.org/post/coping-new-cold-war-central-europe-ukraine-and-russia <p><strong>Coping with a New Cold War in Central Europe: Ukraine and Russia</strong></p><p></p><p align="left">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Our aging old and bellicose new young cold warriors are rattling their rhetorical sabers and urging that the American military machine rattle loudly some real military equipment to chase the Russians out of Ukraine and end the Russian intimidation of the Ukrainian people.</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 22:53:56 +0000 Tom Power 18643 at http://mtpr.org New Efforts to Fire Proof Our Forests: The Initiative Built into the 2014 Farm Bill http://mtpr.org/post/new-efforts-fire-proof-our-forests-initiative-built-2014-farm-bill <p><strong>New Efforts to Fire Proof Our Forests:&nbsp; The Initiative Built into the 2014 Farm Bill<a href="#_ftn1" name="_ftnref1" title=""><strong>[1]</strong></a></strong></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 14:54:35 +0000 Tom Power 17985 at http://mtpr.org Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions http://mtpr.org/post/confusing-politics-and-economics-electric-supply-decisions <p><strong>Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions </strong></p><p></p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 14:53:42 +0000 Tom Power 17330 at http://mtpr.org The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production http://mtpr.org/post/flight-coal-us-electricity-production <p><strong>The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 14:17:42 +0000 Tom Power 16680 at http://mtpr.org Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana http://mtpr.org/post/buying-back-dams-important-billion-dollar-decision-montana <p><strong>Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p><p align="left">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; When NorthWestern Energy announced last year that it had entered into an agreement to buy back the hydroelectric facilities that the Montana Power Company once owned, most Montana’s probably smiled a little , thinking that a serious public policy mistake of the 1990s was about to be corrected.</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 22:40:29 +0000 Tom Power 15993 at http://mtpr.org Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World http://mtpr.org/post/valuing-montana-colstrip-electric-generators-strange-new-world <p align="center"><strong>Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World</strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p>NorthWestern Energy is proposing to purchase the Montana hydroelectric generators originally owned by the Montana Power Company. Montana Power sold them off in the late 1990s as it pursued a speculative dream of becoming a national telecommunication company. Instead Montana Power went bankrupt and ceased to exist.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 15:27:32 +0000 tom power 15449 at http://mtpr.org U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline? http://mtpr.org/post/us-state-department-greenlight-keystone-pipeline <p><strong>U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline?</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 16:02:39 +0000 Tom Power 14842 at http://mtpr.org The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use http://mtpr.org/post/oil-companies-self-serving-fatalism-petroleum-use <p><strong>The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use</strong></p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 16:04:55 +0000 Tom Power 13620 at http://mtpr.org Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs” http://mtpr.org/post/creating-and-destroying-good-jobs <p><strong>Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs”</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 15:58:57 +0000 Tom Power 13071 at http://mtpr.org