Montana Natural History Center http://mtpr.org en Common Loons: Guarding The Nest http://mtpr.org/post/common-loons-guarding-nest <p></p><p>"Montana's Common Loons," by Ben Turnock, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22325 at http://mtpr.org Common Loons: Guarding The Nest Stump Stabber http://mtpr.org/post/stump-stabber <p>"Giant Ichneumon Wasp," by Christine Wren.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22134 at http://mtpr.org Stump Stabber Common Mergansers http://mtpr.org/post/common-mergansers <p></p><p>7/13/14 &amp; 7/14/14: This week on <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank"><em>Fieldnotes</em></a>: "Common Mergansers," written by Kristi Johnson, read by Allison De Jong.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21379 at http://mtpr.org Common Mergansers Pinedrops http://mtpr.org/post/pinedrops <p></p><p>7/6/14 &amp; 7/7/14: This week on <em><a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a></em>: "Pinedrops," by Peter Lesica, read by Anne Garde.</p><p>"All of our conifers form a symbiotic partnership with certain soil fungi. The fungus helps the tree get minerals and in return receives energy-rich carbohydrates. Pinedrops (<i>Pterospora&nbsp;andromedea</i>) insinuates itself into this partnership by taking some of those carbohydrates from the fungus.</p> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21171 at http://mtpr.org Pinedrops Spiderwebs http://mtpr.org/post/spiderwebs <p></p><p>6/29/14 &amp; 6/30/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Spiderwebs," written by Deborah Richie and Lynn Tennefoss, read by Caroline Kurtz.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21039 at http://mtpr.org Spiderwebs Tree Bark http://mtpr.org/post/tree-bark <p>6/22/14 &amp; 6/23/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Tree Bark," written by Peter Lesica, read by Anne Garde.</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 20011 at http://mtpr.org Tree Bark Montana's Overlooked Fish http://mtpr.org/post/montanas-overlooked-fish <p></p><p>6/15/14 &amp; 6/16/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Montana's Forgotten Fish," written by Bridger Cohan, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 20002 at http://mtpr.org Montana's Overlooked Fish Flower Crab Spiders http://mtpr.org/post/flower-crab-spiders <p>6/8/14 &amp; 6/9/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Flower Crab Spiders," by Sara Mintz.</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 19993 at http://mtpr.org Flower Crab Spiders Bushy-tailed Woodrats, a.k.a. Packrats http://mtpr.org/post/bushy-tailed-woodrats-aka-packrats <p>6/1/14 &amp; 6/2/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Packrats," written by Sandra Murphy, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 19536 at http://mtpr.org Bushy-tailed Woodrats, a.k.a. Packrats Mont-Africa http://mtpr.org/post/mont-africa <p>5/25/14 &amp; 5/26/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Mont-Africa," by Camille Barr.</p> Fri, 23 May 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 19475 at http://mtpr.org Mont-Africa