Field Notes http://mtpr.org en Pine Beetle Chirps http://mtpr.org/post/pine-beetle-chirps <p></p><p>"Mountain Pine Bark Beetle Chirps," written by Eric Ott, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22630 at http://mtpr.org Pine Beetle Chirps Squirrels "Cache" In http://mtpr.org/post/squirrels-cache <p></p><p>"Squirrel Behavior," written by Tracy Wendt, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 15 Aug 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22626 at http://mtpr.org Squirrels "Cache" In Blodgett Canyon's Horsehead Arch http://mtpr.org/post/blodgett-canyons-horsehead-arch <p></p><p>"Blodgett Canyon," written by Ben Johnson, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22613 at http://mtpr.org Blodgett Canyon's Horsehead Arch Skunk In The Basement http://mtpr.org/post/skunk-basement <p>"Striped Skunk," by Peggy Miller, read by Allison De Jong.</p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22336 at http://mtpr.org Skunk In The Basement Common Loons: Guarding The Nest http://mtpr.org/post/common-loons-guarding-nest <p></p><p>"Montana's Common Loons," by Ben Turnock, read by Caroline Kurtz.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22325 at http://mtpr.org Common Loons: Guarding The Nest Stump Stabber http://mtpr.org/post/stump-stabber <p>"Giant Ichneumon Wasp," by Christine Wren.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 22134 at http://mtpr.org Stump Stabber Common Mergansers http://mtpr.org/post/common-mergansers <p></p><p>7/13/14 &amp; 7/14/14: This week on <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank"><em>Fieldnotes</em></a>: "Common Mergansers," written by Kristi Johnson, read by Allison De Jong.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21379 at http://mtpr.org Common Mergansers Pinedrops http://mtpr.org/post/pinedrops <p></p><p>7/6/14 &amp; 7/7/14: This week on <em><a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a></em>: "Pinedrops," by Peter Lesica, read by Anne Garde.</p><p>"All of our conifers form a symbiotic partnership with certain soil fungi. The fungus helps the tree get minerals and in return receives energy-rich carbohydrates. Pinedrops (<i>Pterospora&nbsp;andromedea</i>) insinuates itself into this partnership by taking some of those carbohydrates from the fungus.</p> Fri, 04 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21171 at http://mtpr.org Pinedrops Spiderwebs http://mtpr.org/post/spiderwebs <p></p><p>6/29/14 &amp; 6/30/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Spiderwebs," written by Deborah Richie and Lynn Tennefoss, read by Caroline Kurtz.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 21039 at http://mtpr.org Spiderwebs Tree Bark http://mtpr.org/post/tree-bark <p>6/22/14 &amp; 6/23/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Tree Bark," written by Peter Lesica, read by Anne Garde.</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 20011 at http://mtpr.org Tree Bark