MTPR http://mtpr.org en U.S. Boosts Baghdad Diplomatic Security With 350 More Soldiers http://mtpr.org/post/us-boosts-baghdad-diplomatic-security-350-more-soldiers The U.S. is adding 350 more troops to help protect the American Embassy in Baghdad and its support facilities in the Iraqi capital.<p>That raises the number of U.S. Wed, 03 Sep 2014 06:03:00 +0000 editor 24192 at http://mtpr.org U.S. Boosts Baghdad Diplomatic Security With 350 More Soldiers Newscast 09-02-2014 http://mtpr.org/post/newscast-09-02-2014 <p>A plane carrying four passengers crashes in the Great Falls area. Police indentify a Louisiana man who was shot and killed outside of a Missoula strip club earlier this week. A principal and a vice-principal of a Missoula high school are suspended for five days without pay.</p> Wed, 03 Sep 2014 02:10:01 +0000 news 24191 at http://mtpr.org The Troubling Implications Of The Celebrity Photo Leak http://mtpr.org/post/troubling-implications-celebrity-photo-leak To learn more about the recent celebrity photo hack, Melissa Block speaks with Matthew Green of Johns Hopkins University. They discuss how the photos might have been obtained, as well as how you can protect your own material saved to the cloud. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:38:00 +0000 editor 24189 at http://mtpr.org MRAPs And Bayonets: What We Know About The Pentagon's 1033 Program http://mtpr.org/post/mraps-and-bayonets-what-we-know-about-pentagons-1033-program Amid widespread criticism of the deployment of military-grade weapons and vehicles by police officers in Ferguson, Mo., President Obama recently ordered a review of federal efforts supplying equipment to local law enforcement agencies across the country.<p>So, we decided to take a look at what the president might find.<p>NPR obtained data from the Pentagon on every military item sent to local, state and federal agencies through the Pentagon's Law Enforcement Support Office — known as the 1033 program — from 2006 through April 23, 2014. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:19:00 +0000 editor 24190 at http://mtpr.org MRAPs And Bayonets: What We Know About The Pentagon's 1033 Program A Suspected Ebola Patient On The Run In Liberia http://mtpr.org/post/suspected-ebola-patient-run-liberia <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-JZEaeOmfE</p> Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Jason Beaubien 24183 at http://mtpr.org A Suspected Ebola Patient On The Run In Liberia In Tom Hanks' iPad App, Typewriters Make Triumphant Return (Ding!) http://mtpr.org/post/tom-hanks-ipad-app-typewriters-make-triumphant-return-ding Tom Hanks' love affair with typewriters began in the 1970s, with his first proper typewriter — a Hermes 2000. Typewriters are "beautiful works of art," he tells NPR's Audie Cornish. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:15:00 +0000 editor 24188 at http://mtpr.org In Tom Hanks' iPad App, Typewriters Make Triumphant Return (Ding!) Double Mastectomies Don't Increase Cancer Survival Rates http://mtpr.org/post/double-mastectomies-dont-increase-cancer-survival-rates More women are choosing to have bilateral mastectomies when they are diagnosed with early-stage breast cancer, even though there's little evidence that removing both breasts improves their survival compared with more conservative treatments.<p>The biggest study yet on the question has found no survival benefit with bilateral mastectomy compared with breast-conserving surgery with radiation.<p>The <a href="http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1900512">study</a>, published Tuesday in <em>JAMA,</em> the journal of the American Medical Association, looked at the records of all women Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:14:00 +0000 editor 24184 at http://mtpr.org Double Mastectomies Don't Increase Cancer Survival Rates Sounds From The First Day Of School http://mtpr.org/post/sounds-first-day-school The day after Labor Day is traditionally the end of summer break and the start of the school year. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:11:00 +0000 editor 24185 at http://mtpr.org Sounds From The First Day Of School North Korea Grants Interviews With American Detainees: To What End? http://mtpr.org/post/north-korea-grants-interviews-american-detainees-what-end Two U.S. news organizations, CNN and the Associated Press, were granted interviews with three men detained by North Korean authorities. To learn more about why, and what North Korea hopes to gain from the publicity, Melissa Block talks with Georgetown professor Victor Cha, the former director for Asian Affairs at the National Security Council. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:10:00 +0000 editor 24187 at http://mtpr.org Highway Patrol Cracked Down On Labor Day Week Drunk Drivers http://mtpr.org/post/highway-patrol-cracked-down-labor-day-week-drunk-drivers <p>Montana Highway Patrol officers who cover Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders Counties took 13 drunk drivers off the road during the week leading up to Labor Day weekend.</p> Tue, 02 Sep 2014 20:58:12 +0000 Edward O'Brien 24181 at http://mtpr.org Highway Patrol Cracked Down On Labor Day Week Drunk Drivers